How To Find Happiness At The Workplace


Last week I referred to the depressed at the workplace in my article, NSSF SUICIDE: What is your purpose in life?

A blogger sent me an email thanking me for the motivation to have a purposeful life.

In my response, I challenged him on why he allowed himself to be unhappy at the workplace to a point of near suicide yet he could do something about his depression. I then shared with him my story that I now share with you.

Our workplace is where we spend our most productive hours in a day. If we are depressed at the workplace, it will affect the quality of our lives.

A few years ago, I was a teacher in one of the Schools in Kampala. I was working so hard to get a promotion but the working condition was so hostile.

I got so frustrated and disgusted with my job. However, I noticed most of the teachers were happy with their jobs and never complained other than a few of my friends.

I then sought the advice of one of the oldest teachers. Mr Musisi (not real name) had been in the profession for more than 30 yrs and was not about to quit. He told me, “The science of being happy at the workplace are in five tasks; I will give you a task each day”. Read More

6 comments on “How To Find Happiness At The Workplace

  1. granbee says:

    A very wise senior teacher you had there in Kimpala, Aliker! We must find the happiness on the inside of the shells of the various parts of our days in the workplace. It is the tenderness waiting inside the shells of the momemts that bring us fulfillment!

    • gethappy says:

      So true, if we find inner peace, we physically express our outer joy.i agree that its the tenderness waiting inside the shells of the moments that bring us fulfillment. Cheers my friend

  2. This is an amazing post. It reinforced my belief 🙂 Thankee ! 🙂
    have fun ! always !

  3. Great post! The first task and its lesson are especially important for me to remember. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

