HAPPINESS: Seek Simple Steps to a Spiritual Life


By Aliker David Martin

“There are only two ways to live your life. One is as though nothing is a miracle. The other is as though everything is a miracle” Albert Einstein

Connecting to the spirit

Before you ignore the idea of spirituality in your pursuit of happiness, take a leap of faith and complete reading my blog post. My intention is to stimulate anxiety in you to explore what those with faith see that you don’t see in a spiritual life. By spirituality it could mean God, higher power, the spirit, Universal source, or nature. My self-conscious spiritual journey began as a child in an elementary boarding school. Apparently, it was a period of war and so many pupils who had witnessed scary scenes were always seeing ghost in their sleep. They would cry out loud so much in the night that even the Matron would get scared. As expected of a missionary school, the chaplain is invited and he teaches us the prayer “ Angle of God”. Looking back as an adult, I realized that we were more scared of uncertainties than the ghost itself. We felt so insecure in our sleep and at school.

Many years after this incidence, I was teaching Christian Religious Education in a high school. Unlike most teachers, after school I would pray with the students before going back home. One day, as I taught about life in the spirit world, a student began to cry. I inquired why she was crying and she told me, her mother will soon be in a theatre for an operation at the hospital and the doctors think she might not make it. Her relatives had visited to prepare her incase her mother didn’t make it. I asked her to join me in prayer after school. I introduced her to having personal moments of reflection on faith. I now consider this meditation. And most importantly, to always attend our choir practice. To make a long story short, her mother survived the operation and she remained strong in her spiritual journey even after high school.

In other words this simple steps in spiritually gave her strength and resilience to cope with the uncertainty in her mother’s life. If you develop a spiritual life, you don’t need to figure out everything or be in control but you live in the flow of life, trusting the underlying benevolence and wisdom of the higher power. And this brings you less stress but a positive outlook on life. That prayer at our elementary school made us less anxious and we looked positively to a night without ghost.

Studies show that those who have a spiritual dimension to their life are happier than those who don’t; they have better marriages and cope better to adversities in their lives. I know some one reading this blog is going through a difficult moment. Take a leap of faith and start your spiritual journey by meditating on your relationship with your spiritual self. Listen to the inner voice in you.

Not only does spirituality give a person strength and resilience, it helps us understand that when you seek to broaden your perspective and try to see life from a spiritual point of view, everything makes a lot more sense. My student took a leap of faith to explore the path of spirituality that she had less travelled and it changed her life.

Conclusively, Teilhard de Chardin a philosopher once said, “We are not human beings having a spiritual experience. We are spiritual beings having a human experience”. You lose nothing seeking a spiritual life.

28 comments on “HAPPINESS: Seek Simple Steps to a Spiritual Life

  1. granbee says:

    We lose nothing seeking a spiritual life; we have everything to gain, even the entire universe! We can even gain access to the innermost regions of our own souls. We can gain an unbreakable connection with people around the world who we will never see in the flesh!

  2. Kathy says:

    I like your reasoning and the example that you gave. However, t seems that it is not prayer or spirituality that are effective but more the God to whom you are praying. If you find your own entity to worship and it is not the true God then how effective is it to pray to it?

    • gethappy says:

      So true, I believe there is only one God manifested i different ways. We also get to him by relating to him differently.So I think, one has to choose to pray to God in a manner that he has chosen to relate with him.Thanks for the heads up 🙂

  3. I have never found this, a “Doubting Thomas”. I wish I could. Not sure if it is organized religion that I find I don’t care for very much, or having not made the connection I need to. I will keep reading here. I believe very much in the “faith” people have, I just find myself lacking that very same faith and I do not know why.

    Thank you for this post.

    • gethappy says:

      Hey,
      Thanks for your feedback.First of all, I am struggling with explaining my beliefs to a society thats has unique different belief system than that of my upbringing. I am conscious that this is a sensitive issue and I am open to respect those who don’t believe in God. I only want to help those who can to see what I have experienced in my life as a spiritual person.Until I came to United States, I had never met any one who didn’t believe in God or a spiritual power.So I believe you will understand my perspective if it deviates from your common thinking.
      Having made this remarks, I will now attend to some issues you raised.I believe its normal to have doubts.To have faith is to believe in something you don’t see.This means you have to develop a relationship with the spiritual aspect of yourself.Like all relationships, it’s a two way traffic.You have to be open to a relationship to appreciate the friendship.Have you ever liked a person and what you see most people don’t see it in them? Its because you have developed a relationship. After developing a relationship with my belief system that there is a higher power that defines my existence and purpose, I began to relate to it in the message, through prayer and my actions.In so doing this, I did not only find meaning in my existence and life but also I found a home in the organized religion of the Catholic faith.An institution with weaknesses because they are led by human beings.Just like I said, when you get the connection then things begin to look differently.So you have to be open to accept it when you see it.Just like you can be in an area without internet network but when you place yourself in certain positions you naturally get connected with what you are searching for.You have all the time to explore this network.Search for it when you are in need (of network) and see if you find it.Every one has his own time and way to identify with their spiritual self and so will your day come if you seek it.
      I like it when you say,”I wish I could”.Thats a statement from a person on the right journey.Surely one day in the near future I hope you do find it. I wish I could open up more about my life and family in faith but since it relates to others and I don’t have their confidence I will end it here. I must also admit, I found it easy to question my faith in America than any other place I have been to.The most difficult thing for me as an African when I go back to my people is to explain to them that those who brought us the message of God seem to be avoiding it NOW.So I encourage all those who have the opportunity to travel to always take time to inquire for personal reasons why the people they meet have faith and are spiritual.Thanks for the feedback.I pray this helps to bring you closer in your journey.Let me know what you think.

  4. Jocelyne says:

    Hello Aliker,
    I like what you wrote to Four Blue Hills. I too was brought up in an area that was predominately Catholic and I too went to boarding school – a Catholic school for girls only, grades 1-12. This school was also the mother house for the sisters who taught us and I was exposed to the postulants and novices studying to take their final vows. When I moved to Florida, I, as a Catholic, became a minority. I will never lose my Catholic faith and as I get older, I become, for lack of a better word, more orthodox. Aside from being a Realtor, I am the DRE at our Church. I am in charge of running the religious education program for children, adults and the RCIA – those wishing to become Catholic. I applaud you for your efforts at sharing your faith. If I may, I would like to share with you someone who is a Crusader for Catholicism. His name is Michael Voris and you can see him daily on Real Catholic TV.com Following is a link for you to view one of his daily videos on the net. http://www.realcatholictv.com/daily/?today=2012-01-18.
    Keep up the good work.
    MmeJocelyne

    • gethappy says:

      Jocelyne,
      So much in common indeed. I am a practicing catholic and fortunate to have my formation deeply rooted in the catholic church. At first, I worried to offend with my strong catholic believes and now that I have another catholic identifying with my spiritual identity I feel more secure and doing the right thing. I f I were never catholic I would never be educated.Thanks for opening up, I hope to learn more from other people of a different approach to life as it is my christian calling.Let me now watch Michael’s video.Thanks for sharing.

  5. willofheart says:

    you’re right on this post, being with God everything turns so easy so light, having strong relationship with him and holding your faith nothing will be impossible, in connection with this I am nominating you for Genuine Blog Award, you can link at: http://willofheart.wordpress.com/2012/01/19/yay-for-the-awards/ … 🙂

  6. A life without faith is a life not lived ….
    we all need guidance to help us forge through life
    whatever that guidance might be.
    Blessings,
    Isadora

    • gethappy says:

      Isadora,
      Welcome to my blog. Faith is the last thing some one should ever lose in every struggle. I certainly agree with you when you say life without faith is a life not lived because its spiritually dead and physically alive. Please take time to check out my others posts, it could inspire you or a friend

  7. eof737 says:

    Splendid post. Thanks for sharing your insights. 😉

    • gethappy says:

      Always welcome my new friend. Formerly, let me welcome you to my blog as well.Feel free to check out other previous post that could bring you a lot of joy.Cheers 🙂

  8. Sara hobbins says:

    Amazingtopic, helped with my security!! Thanksfor that.

  9. Jhonny jonas says:

    Thankyou for this your blog it is very decentand this post is amazing

  10. I got what you mean , thankyou for posting .Woh I am glad to find this website through google. “Delay is preferable to error.” by Thomas Jefferson.

  11. God is Good says:

    Yes … I agree we are spiritual beings having a human experience … for we are seated in Heavenly places … This reminds me of a New Zealand psychologist, Dianne Devit (I think is her name) that discovered that Christian and non-Christian alike … in fact all human beings have what is now described as a “God Space” … Here is the link to the Australian connection http://www.refocussing.com.au/ and on that page you should find the link to the New Zealand page … fascinating and wonderful to know “where God is for you right now” … it is called “refocussing” which is sort of what you did with that student … the Aussie page will give an explaination … you may find it interestng … Blessings …. God is Good!

  12. I really like your writing style, wonderful information, thankyou for posting : D.

  13. Cary Hertz says:

    I actually desired to compose a small note to thank for you for some of the pleasant secrets you happen to be showing on this webpage.

  14. fgassette says:

    Thank you for following my blog. I’ve just been at it for two months and look forward to encourage and be encouraged.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

Leave a Reply

