HAPPINESS: If you can dream it you can achieve it


By Aliker David Martin

“Every great dream begins with a dreamer. Always remember, you have within you the strength, the patience, and the passion to reach for the stars to change the world”. Harriet Tubman

Fearless Dreamers

I have just finished reading a book, No More Nightmares. It’s a book by Beverly Ann Dexter, PhD. She writes on how to overcome nightmares by using planned dream interventions. It occurred to me that the most shocked people about my scholarship at University of San Diego are those who either thought getting an American scholarship by a Ugandan (African) was a broad day nightmare or I was not good enough.

When I was born, my parents named me after Dr. Aliker Martin. He is one of the pioneers to win an American scholarship in my village. He was so outstanding that village mates would stand by the roadside to receive him when he returned from studies. This is what happiness meant to me. I always dreamt of an American scholarship.

According to Ian K. Smith, a New York Times best-selling author of the book The Fat Smash Diet, dreams are the powerful creations of our imagination. They inspire us during times of difficulty and inspire us when we become too complacent. Even when I was hassling in the conflicts in Africa and struggling to find what to eat, I kept dreaming. I believe the happiest people are fearless dreamers. They use their imagination to create hope and possibilities.

I suppose, you are questioning yourself how dreaming brings you happiness. I have learnt that the act of imagining an outcome is enough to change your mood. Every day that I imagined the possibilities of success, my mood relayed a positive attitude on life. Even while I borrowed shirts in school to take pictures, it never stopped me from smiling for the camera.

Conclusively sometimes in life, you can be too close to the trees to see the forest. Mentally remove yourself from that difficult situation through imagination to get a bigger and clearer picture of the future. Believe in the power of imaginations to bring you happiness.

22 comments on “HAPPINESS: If you can dream it you can achieve it

  1. I agree that the more we can channel our dreams and what they teach us towards the positive, everyone benefits from such energies. Great topic.

  2. theWomanAtTheWell says:

    A step back and releasing things from a tight grasp can make all the difference in one’s life..you are right. Great post, thanks for sharing. God Bless my friend.-watw

    • gethappy says:

      WATW,
      Thanks for the blessings and close scrutiny of the wisdom in the message. You know it makes a difference to make a blogger know you picked interest in his diction.Thanks my friend. God Bless

  3. "M" is for Marriage and Motherhood... And for Me says:

    Beautiful! Please let me know of the day you write a book because I want to be one of the first ones to buy it. God bless you!

    • gethappy says:

      OMG Awesome,
      As a fellow blogger, you will surely be informed in time.Thanks for that blogging love. I appreciate the motivation you always give me to keep writing 🙂

  4. willofheart says:

    I agree on this first dream because dream is a bigger picture of exactly what you want then with a combination of diligence, perseverance and focus we can achieve it… thanks for sharing this one… God bless… 🙂

  5. willowdot21 says:

    Dream are a double edge sword! They can inspire and lift us up. They can dash us against the rocks and set us back for days. But mostly dreams are where we arrange our thoughts and plan our lives, make planes and strive for success. We all know people who say “I never dream” They do they just do not remember their dreams. I believe dreams are a two way staircase to both Heaven and Hell we all can go both ways but if we can become good people the trips to Hell will become less. Me I have a long way to go before I can relax!!I hope you are well and happy. xx

    • gethappy says:

      I agree thou I do’t think interpreting dreams helps. After reading the book I mentioned in the article, I changed my mind from interpreting them as Heaven and Hell. i encourage you to read it.Thanks for your feedback

  6. […] HAPPINESS: If you can dream it you can achieve it (happinessnest.wordpress.com) […]

  7. granbee says:

    gethappy, these last lines, “Believe in the power of imaginations to bring you happiness” are such a blessing to me today. I can picture you practicing this while hiding from marauders, while digging for edible roots, while smiling in a borrowed shirt. Your parents definitely practice your last line when they chose your name! I praise God for YOUR happiness today!

  8. Grant Peppin says:

    Notable write up. Remember to keep up the very good performance.

  9. Well said Aliker! I am a huge dreamer! I have dreams I expect to achieve and I have dreams I would love to achieve, just in case the opportunity arises. 🙂 I write them in journals and I think of them often, asking God what his desire is for the outcome to help others in the process.

    You are so right about stepping back from the forest to view the trees. It can be difficult to remember this some days.

    Believe in the power of imaginations to bring you happiness… is Beautiful!

    Thank you for more great wisdom.

    • gethappy says:

      Tina,
      Thanks for the testimony. I agree with you when you say,”it can be difficult to remember this some days” its because we are human who suffer from our ego,however if we make it a habit to remind ourselves and have this ideas in our conscious memory, we surely live a more happy life.Thanks my friend 🙂

  10. […] HAPPINESS: If you can dream it you can achieve it (happinessnest.wordpress.com) […]

  11. Rana Armoush says:

    Dreams are the mirror of the soul, and we have the power to put our dreams on the right direction. Thank you Aliker for this nice post, it spreads a lot of hope in ones spirit, especially when you presented your own experience as a clue.

  12. I was studying some of your content on this internet site and I believe this internet site is real informative! Keep posting.

Leave a Reply

