HAPPINESS: 5 Secrets to a Happy and Prosperous New Year


By Aliker David Martin

“If you want to live a happy life, tie it to a goal, not people or things” Albert Einstein

A new year of new opportunities

It is the time of the year when every one is taking stock of their lives. Many are making resolutions while others have given up on making resolutions. According to them, it doesn’t work and it’s not necessary. One of my greatest friends always told me,” subject the mind in a state of free flow and only allow yourself to follow it where it takes you”. Like many of those who have given up on making resolutions, he has settled in a comfort zone. While at university, I also heard a student say, “If a Lizard is to put on a trouser, it must know where to place its tail”. Therefore, if you want to be happy and prosperous in 2012, you need to know what to do. Here are my five suggestions:

What is your potential?

The worst form of disability is the inability to know your potential. Do you ever take time to reflect on your strengths? Every one must have a habit to daily meditate on their strengths and weaknesses. This will stimulate the mind to dream and how to meet the dream. The gap between your dream and your current reality can only be filled through a commitment to maximize your potential.

Ask yourself if you have any goals in 2012

Opportunity is only for those who are  ready. If you don’t have a goal, you can never be meaningfully happy with any achievement. Having a goal gives you focus to grow in an area of your strengths. This is what people celebrate as a happy and prosperous year.

Do you have a time plan to achieve your new year’s goals?

My teacher used to refer to the adage, ”failure to plan is planning to fail”. Achieving your goals is not an automatic thing. Many people have wishes not goals. To develop a wish into a goal, you have to draft a plan on how to achieve the goal. Besides developing a plan, you must make a daily commitment to purposely follow the plan.

Does your environment support your goal plan?

High achievers need to keep an achievers mindset. This also implies you keep the company of those who boost your chances of achieving your goal plan. This reflects the saying, “show me your friend and I will tell you who you are”. If your dream is to be a CEO of a company, think like one and act like one. Dress up like the CEO of your company.

Are you ready for change?

To achieve a goal is to accept change. The problem is most people want to achieve a goal but not accept change. You cannot eat your cake and have it just like you cannot become a CEO and not change the lifestyle. Many people resist change and this derails them from achieving their goal.

So if you want a happy and prosperous new year, you should identify your potential and set a goal. Place your self in an environment that allows you to achieve your goals and accept change.

39 comments on “HAPPINESS: 5 Secrets to a Happy and Prosperous New Year

  1. magsx2 says:

    Hi,
    Very well said. I love going for goals, I always make them realistic, and some goals I am still working on, some I have already achieved, but if I don’t succeed at least I know I gave it my best shot. 😀

  2. Good post here. thank you for sharing it. God Bless 🙂

  3. AMSDaily says:

    I started to do your suggestions! Thanks!

  4. dogear6 says:

    Excellent points and something for me to work on in my journals.

    • dogear6 says:

      I would love to hear some examples from your own experiences of how you applied this!

      • gethappy says:

        I love that question and enjoy sharing my experiences.Two years ago, an American family bought me a gift of a book titled,The success principles by Jack Canfield.This book tickled anxiety in me to find out what my strength was.It got me into the habit of reflecting on my life.I asked my self when was I most happy?What do I enjoy doing whether I am paid or not? I asked friends what they thought were my strongest attributes and it all came back to my speaking power.That reminded me in high school when being bullied,one boy said,”don’t allow Aliker to speak,beat him up and listen to his excuses later”This meant that, there was something about my speaking. I realized I could speak well and started investing in speaking. Jack’s book said turn your passion into a career and get paid to do what you love.And thats how I found myself in America-speaking.
        Secondly,as a teacher I used to set personal goals and fail to meet them due to many unforeseen circumstances.I once read in the news paper most senior politicians in Uganda didn’t like to make new year resolutions,so I dropped the idea of setting goals but when I changed career as a development worker with non-for profits, all projects were about meeting goals.This brought me lot of satisfaction so I found my self back in the habit of setting personal goals.This time they were small measurable and time bound goals.I loved the focus and feedback I got from friends.Other than what my teacher used to tell me about planning, I worked for an American non=for profit called Invisible Children.Their programs were designed from here(America) and implemented in Uganda,this meant to secure my job and to multi task, I could not do without planning.So I learnt the lesson for personal development.I was once forced to give a workshop to teachers in the program on time management.In the process I benefited from the preparation of the workshop. I learnt more for my self and the experience of working with international staff made this part of me.
        And this last part of my environment and being ready for change are my latest experiences.For an African like me to make my way to America on scholarship has a lot to do with relationships and adjustments to change.I have had all sorts of friends in life for a childs upbringing but also I have been lucky to have strong resilient parents and social institutions to guide my growth. When I started working with international organisations my perspectives began changing.I met unique personalities who had a great influence in my life. Mylast days in Africa was spent with intern students from Notre Dame University.I turned my free spare room to a paid guest room for tourist and visiting research students from America. I was forced to adjust to change of accommodating American students with a different culture and belief system and to respect their values that were far from my African upbringing.I can write pages and pages of my experiences on these topics however, keep watch on my page,I am writing a book on my experience coming to America.I will share how I came here and what I think about what I have found out about being here.It will have my theme of Happiness.I hope it throws more light on your question. One of my resolutions this year2012 is to author a book.Thanks for asking this question and for the interest.

    • gethappy says:

      Thanks for appreciating 🙂

      • dogear6 says:

        Aliker – your answer was wonderful! I read it over several times since it came into my E-mail just to enjoy it.

        You offer a lot of great ideas on your blog. I’d love for you to incorporate more your personal experiences into the inspirations you’re providing.

      • gethappy says:

        Awesome, thats the kind of feedback I am looking forward to, I will certainly incorporate that in my subsequent blog posts.Thanks so much for your feedback and inspiration.

  5. granbee says:

    Surrounding ourselves with multiple sources of positive energy jumpstarts us over and over!

  6. "M" is for Marriage and Motherhood... And for Me says:

    Love your post! Like always, so encouraging and full of wisdom! You know, I truly believe God has put you in my path so that you, with your words, give me the strength I need to overcome obstacles so that I can keep on travelling on the road to my dreams (goals). God bless you!

    • gethappy says:

      OMG, thats a very powerful message.It has left me heavily indebted to making more inspirational posts.This words just got to me and realised i was smiling to my self.Indeed God works through people.I am glad to you he has worked through me.God Bless you

  7. I like the image of a lizard putting on trousers!

  8. Marie Young says:

    Before I read this post, I was always a person to say that new years resolutions were worthless. Your definately right though. In order to know where your going in life you have to take the time out to self refelct. I love your writing, very inspiring!

    Thanks.

  9. Judy says:

    I gave you the Candle Lighter Award because you spread happiness in the world, you bring light into the world, and you never give up. Congrats! Here’s the link: http://jayjaysfavorites.wordpress.com/2012/01/06/liebster-blog-award-candle-lighter-award/

    • gethappy says:

      Judy, words may not express my gratitude to receive this award in honor of my passion to spread happiness and bring light to the world.This means a lot to me, and I humbly receive it with a a lot of joy.Thanks for bringing me happiness this week end.Cheers 🙂

  10. willofheart says:

    this year started very lightly and inspiring for me, I inspired reading u’re answer to dogear6, I honestly feel wow and really motivates me … sharing your thoughts and inspirations through your post really matters and means a lot to me… happy weekends… 🙂

    • gethappy says:

      Am smiling hmmmm ok, the good thing about inspiring and sharing happiness is that the recipients generously give you back.As you know a blogger needs this kind of acceptance to keep blogging.Sometimes, a blogger feels readers are just being pleasant and don’t really mean their complements but when you get this kind of testimony, you get a powerful sense of purpose and obligation to continue blogging.Thanks for your dedication to my page.Cheers

  11. dearfriends says:

    What a thoughtful, well-written post! Changing behaviors is all about changing beliefs. Unless I am aware of my belief, I am probably going to fail at making a behavior change regarding that belief. Makes me stop and think—all those little beliefs I have that keep me from attaining my goals. Whew. Thanks again, Barb

  12. Hi Aliker! I just read your response to dogear. Since I was new to your site, I had no idea of your accomplishments. My heart smiles for you. I am so proud to say Welcome to America. I would love to read your book and I, like dogear, would love to read more of your examples.

    I like the fact you ask your friends for their honest feedback. That can be scary at times, but yet it seems you have it mastered. Great lesson for me. Thank you.

    I was impressed finding out you worked with Invisible Children and you rented rooms for interns to study American culture. You were definitely determined. I like that! I will be checking back often for more inspiration. I like how you think! 🙂

    • gethappy says:

      Christine, with this words, you are my new friend.Your words tell it all about what you are.Surely, my blog will have updates on my book.Its the interest i see in my new American friends both online and personally that makes me know what to write about in my life.Yea its true i have come a long way and now need to share my experiences with others.sO TRUE iNVISIBLE children and the American interns were an initiation to the American life. Again thanks my new friend, lets keep in touch.I seem to like your passion for culture too and you come out as a very social likable person.

      • Aliker, you are so sweet! I will definitely keep in touch. I love your writing and I am looking forward to reading more about your life. You are a wonderful inspiration. I hope you are having a great week. 🙂 Talk to you later.

      • gethappy says:

        Tina,
        i feel fluttered about my writing.I still consider myself a novice in the writing industry.If you insist I will take the complement. I now feel more energized to share more of my stories now that I know it has a good listener/reader.Watch out for my next post.Talk soon Tina 🙂

  13. Androgoth says:

    Have a great Thursday my friend 🙂

    Androgoth

  14. This is an interesting way to approach the New Year.
    I choose one thing to do every year. It is my way of
    being able to set the goal and reach it. I have chosen to
    “Listen to the Music” this year. It is everywhere; in everything
    and everyone. If we are quiet and learn to listen we can hear it.
    Blessings,
    Isadora
    Happy New Year 2012 :
    http://insidethemindofisadora.wordpress.com/2011/12/31/a-toast-for-the-new-year/

    • gethappy says:

      Great idea to listen to music. I have many times found solace in music especially when i feel so low and lonely. I hope this new year brings you abundant joy.

  15. Be thine own palace, or the world’s thy jail. John Donne

Leave a Reply

