HAPPINESS: Be kind as you celebrate Christmas


By Aliker David Martin

Today, give a stranger one of your smiles.  It might be the only sunshine he sees all day.  ~Quoted in P.S. I Love You, compiled by H. Jackson Brown, Jr.

Aliker uses Smart Board

How do you celebrate an achievement? It could be through a hearty laughter or dancing like the football stars celebrating a touchdown. While other people celebrate Christmas season by eating and drinking, I chose an act of kindness that would bring me fulfillment.

One of my best friends invited me over for Christmas with a fully paid flight. We met in Africa while he was an intern student of Notre Dame. I felt obligated to pass on the kindness. I decided to spend time in an elementary school visiting pupils with autism before they could break off for Christmas. I was greatly inspired by the world of possibilities in the lives of these children. Indeed, disability is not inability. My greatest sensation was seeing the children use Apple installed operating system in Smart Boards. Smart Board is an interactive white board developed by Smart Technologies. Relating and listening to these children gave me a strong sense of purpose. Any effort to meet our sense of purpose brings us happiness. Besides, I also treated my self in the evening to a great dish and some drinks. If you treat your self-kindly, it will reciprocate the gesture by bringing you joy and high spirits.

Having said that, I implore you to identify a sense of purpose this festive season and be kind. In Dalai Lama’s words, “If you want others to be happy, practice compassion.  If you want to be happy, practice compassion” Give yourself a treat to find happiness this festive season. A good massage could be so rewarding to the body just like an act of kindness brings you inner joy and fulfillment.

Merry Christmas and a prosperous New Year

29 comments on “HAPPINESS: Be kind as you celebrate Christmas

  1. […] this link: HAPPINESS: Be kind as you celebrate Christmas « The Happiness … Share and […]

  2. Thank you and best wishes to you for a healthy and happy New Year!
    ~Doris
    http://Www.DorisBlanchet.com

  3. fabat48 says:

    Thanks for the follow! You hava a very inspirational blog.

    • gethappy says:

      Fabat48,its people like you that tickle the inspiration in my blog.Thanks for appreciating,every week take time and break moments of stress by clicking my blog.Thanks my friend

  4. Sabina Brave says:

    Merry Christmas and a happy New Year! 🙂

  5. Thanks for the follow my friend. After reading your wonderful story here about the children with autism that you were drawn to; I had to share this with you for which I stumbled upon these past few days. This blind, autistic child Christopher Duffley singing “Open the eyes of my heart Lord” clearly shows how God uses that which is impossible to glorify His work. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wPTMA7HIIyk

    Sincerely, Michelle

  6. […] HAPPINESS: Be kind as you celebrate Christmas. Share this:TwitterFacebookEmailLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

  7. Merry Christmas to you! “If you want others to be happy, practice compassion. If you want to be happy, practice compassion” Although I couldn’t spend Christmas with my parents and siblings, I don’t feel any regret because I know I did a good thing by volunteering my time as a caregiver to help those in need. Thanks 🙂

    • gethappy says:

      Worshipswag,
      I feel your flow. To give care to those in need is one of the most compassionate things you can do.Thanks for believing in the philosophy of happiness through service.You are awesome.May the good lord rewards you with his grace in the New Year.May it make you happier.Thanks my friend

  8. granbee says:

    My husband and I have an autistic niece. We have been reminded so many times over the years that “disability is not inability”. Thank you for your gracious sharing of your school visit on the African continent. I had heard about this virtual interactive whiteboard software and am very pleased to see it used in a school setting such as the one you shared in at Christmas time. Yes, we must be compassionate to ourselves and to others. Your outstanding example is so very much needed in this world today.

    • gethappy says:

      Granbee,as you know we share compassion not because others need it but because we need it more to understand and appreciate who we are.Thanks for the testimony and sharing a passion with me.Share my love to your niece.

  9. Tanja Fisher says:

    Ich erstelle eine kollaborative Blog und ich muss wissen, wenn ich einen blogspot blog zu einem verwandeln k?nnen, wo jeder Inhalte hinzufügen und bearbeiten oder den Text ?ndern. Vielleicht gibt es eine andere Art von Blog whee Sie dies tun k?nnen .. Danke an alle ..

    • gethappy says:

      Fisher, unfortunately I can’t understand what you have written. I would be glad if you could write in English or have some one interpret it for me.Thanks 🙂

  10. dogear6 says:

    Compassion and kindness are in such shortage these days. My husband and I are firm believers in acts of random kindness. It can make such a difference to someone’s day.

    Here’s where I posted about it, although I do have other posts on the topic also.

    http://livingtheseasons.com/2011/09/04/come-to-me-leave-happier/

    Nancy

  11. I consider something truly special in this internet site.

    • gethappy says:

      The only special thing on this site are remarkable personalities like you who follow my blog and inspire me to continue writing.Thanks for those kind words 🙂

  12. Contrary to what most young people today think, the martial law years wasn t exactly the “dark years”, as some would have it.

  13. Just want to say your article is as astonishing. The clarity in your submit is just cool and i can think you’re a professional in this subject. Fine together with your permission let me to grab your RSS feed to keep up to date with imminent post. Thank you a million and please carry on the gratifying work.

    • gethappy says:

      Hey,
      Thanks for the complements. I love to read such complements,they inspire me to keep writing. I welcome you to sign up or click follow so as to receive my weekly blog posts 🙂

Leave a Reply

