HAPPINESS: Stop complaining and focus on the solution


By Aliker David Martin

OCTOBER 20th, 2011

If you have time to whine and complain about something then you have the time to do something about it.  ~Anthony J. D’Angelo, The College Blue Book

Stop complaining and focus on the solution

Last year, I had a good conversation with my good friend Paul (not real name). Paul has failed to get a scholarship since 2002 when we completed our undergraduate studies. He had taken to complaining and sour grapping. I asked Paul what he has done differently in his last three applications. He answered, “ I think I am just unlucky, I have been applying to different schools and have since then given up”. I told Paul that’s the real problem. Stop complaining and focus on the solutions.

I remember reading in one of my motivational books that,” the average person complains 70 times a day”. The problem with complaining is that the “victim” gives up and puts more effort in complaining. This is the energy you need to keep creative doing something different every other time.

Today, Paul called to inform me about his success. I could hear from the other side of the telephone, that he was a happy man. I asked him, “How did you make it?” Paul answered,” I stopped thinking of my self as a victim and started looking for a way to solve the problem”. Many times in life, we keep complaining about the unfortunate events in our life and forget that we could do some thing differently about it. Maya Angelou, author and poet once said,” if you don’t like something change it. If you can’t change it, change your attitude. Don’t complain”. Paul changed his attitude from being a victim to being a victor. If you want to be happy, change your attitude and become a victor.

Focusing on the solution keeps you focused on what is working, so you can stop using your energy to complain and start creating more happiness in your life.

 

5 comments on “HAPPINESS: Stop complaining and focus on the solution

  1. Shonda Malek says:

    Hello Webmaster, I noticed that https://happinessnest.wordpress.com/2011/10/20/happiness-stop-complaining-and-focus-on-the-solution/ is ranking pretty low for some keywords, this may be due to the new Google Panda update, or it could be due to a variety of other factors. I’m sure you already know about On-page SEO, where Google cares highly about proper formatting of various H1/H2/H3 tags, having your main keyword appear in the beginning of your post and having your post end with the keyword, along with having keyword related alt tags and very relevant LSI. However, you do not seem to have the proper Keywords or relevant Keywords in your posts and in the website. Right now you need a tool or plugin that will allow you to check on Keyword insights, search trends and check for backlink analysis and to find out your Keyword competition. To find a Keyword Plugin that combines both Keyword Research and has the ability as a Rank Checker is what WordPress Seo Keyword, please check out our 5 minute video.

  2. mzklever says:

    Fantastic and oh so true. I find that I want to spend much less time in the company of these incredibly negative people. I have severe fibromyalgia, and I often pause before I tell someone; if they have it, too, I brace for the inevitable comparison of symptoms and meds. I don’t want to be defined by my illness. There is so much more to me than that.

    Thanks for following my blog. It brought me here, and I love your daily quotes. Excellent reminders!!

    • gethappy says:

      MZKLEVER,
      This is one of those special moments in the life of a blogger.These words mean a lot to me. I feel blessed to share ideas that touch the life of a person I have never met. Its this kind words that will keep me blogging.Thank you for following my blog and making my day special.Feel free to read my previous posts as well.Cheers

  3. jojopant says:

    How very true. I so love your blog!

  4. […] HAPPINESS: Stop complaining and focus on the solution (happinessnest.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

