HAPPINESS: Can money buy happiness?


By Aliker David Martin

November 25th, 2011

“Happiness is not something ready made. It comes from your own actions.”
― 
Dalai Lama XIV

“People are just as happy as they make up their minds to be.” ― Abraham Lincoln

This week, I spent time with a few kids from some of the riches and most affluent families in California. My focus was to find out how different I was compared to them. Suddenly, an idea came in mind; can money buy happiness? Instantly, a friend came in mind. When I met him over a decade ago, he had a small beautiful family. He had enough not to struggle with the basics of life. He had around him friends from all walks of life. Today, he is by any global stands a wealthy man. He spends a lot of time in his business to make more money. He has little time for family and only hangs out with only business friends. Unfortunately, he is less happy. So while I met these folks from some of the riches and most affluent families, I asked my self; can money buy happiness? This is what came to mind.

It depends on how you spend your money. If you spend money buying illegal drugs, in search for sex and alcoholism; your immoral ways will catch-up with you. There is always a price for all our actions. They either reward us or punish us for our conduct.

Secondly, it depends on the kind of person you are. Different people respond differently in the presence of money. You can spend money to buy pleasure and be happy. My friend had greed and spent more time making more money and forgot that its friends and family that brought him happiness.

Finally, it depends on how much money you have relative to the people around you and relative to your experience. Before meeting these folks from affluent families, I felt happy and fine with what I have and who I was but after meeting them I felt different noticing how much I needed and how much I didn’t have.

15 comments on “HAPPINESS: Can money buy happiness?

  1. Aliker Joseph louis says:

    Its really a great lesson in life that someone has to put that in mind. Always ask your self, can money buy hapiness?

    • gethappy says:

      Louis,Thanks for your feedback.Take time to read more on my previous post and feel free to refer a friend in search of happiness to my blog.Every week, I will make a blog post on Happiness.My blog posts are inspired by my experiences in the week hence practical.

  2. ronaldc93 says:

    Great question to ask with so many answers. Loved how you answered it, great post!

  3. Otim g m says:

    When i was in the psychology class,i came across this adage,”if u r not happy without what you want most,u will not be happy with it”.this is vaguely from my memory but i verified it n found it to be very true.
    BEST WISHES!

  4. Mainly needed to post and inquire where you bought your theme? I’m looking for one for my current website and really appreciate yours. Many thanks.

    • gethappy says:

      Lavone,
      Thanks for appreciating however, my theme is just one of the wordpress premium templates, just that I have added some more futures on my own by self learning. I advise you to sign up and use other available wordpress tools to have my type of website.Best of luck and Merry Xmas

  5. [...] HAPPINESS: Can money buy happiness? (happinessnest.wordpress.com) [...]

  6. [...] HAPPINESS: Can money buy happiness? (happinessnest.wordpress.com) Rate this: Like this:LikeBe the first to like this post. Tagged: bahiyah shabazz, commit to change, demonstrate gratitude, family, money, PERSONAL FINANCE, show appreciation, TLC Posted in: Improved Results ← Valentine’s Day:It will boost the economy and happiness Be the first to start a conversation [...]

  7. [...] HAPPINESS: Can money buy happiness? (happinessnest.wordpress.com) [...]

  8. fgassette says:

    To me, happiness comes from an inner peace and contentment. Knowing that nothing is more important than family and friends and truly knowing yourself. Material things can come and go but a good relationship build upon a strong foundation and unconditional love, can last a lifetime. Of course this starts with our relationship with God.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

    • gethappy says:

      Awesome, as a matter of fact my relationship with friends and family has been my greatest source of happiness.True happiness is indeed inner wellbeing and content :)

  9. […] HAPPINESS: Can money buy happiness? (happinessnest.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

